house of wolves

I’ve been collecting wolf shirts a long time. A bunch live in a bin with my snowboard gear, waiting for the day I am inspired to work a sewing machine and size them down or, turn them into a dress or something. My skill with fabric doesn’t go beyond buttons and a messy whip stitch with a needle.

I will always remember the one that got away. A wolf shirt so beautiful I was taking a moment to admire it. Unfortunately, it was during a two dollar bag sale at the Salmon Arm thrift. The Black Friday of thrift stores. A woman literally snatched it out of my hands and disappeared into the crowd. I was so shocked I didn’t go after her. I will always long for that t-shirt.

This shirt I found 12 years ago at a thrift store a half hour south of here. That same day my brother found the same shirt only the image was very faded at a thrift store 15 minutes north of town.

I found this 12 years ago at a thrift store a half hour south of here. That same day my brother found the same shirt, only the image was very faded, at a thrift store 15 minutes north of town.

I love this one. I think I found it at the thrift in Salmon Arm.

I love everything about this one. I think I found it at the thrift in Salmon Arm.

This one reminds me of a western movie, like Young Guns, but with wolves.

If Young Guns was about wolves.

Batwolf. My brother drew this with a sharpie. I treasure everything he does.

Batwolf. My brother drew this with a sharpie. I treasure everything he makes.

He drew this one with colored sharpies.

He drew this one with colored sharpies.

This is from a series of shirt he printed for Andrew WK's 2002 tour. Before the show he put a pile of shirts on the floor and we all picked one to wear. This shirt was originally black and after he gave it a bleach bath, it became thin and soft. The slik screen wolf has faded a lot over the years and the basketball logo he printed over stands out more.

This shirt is from a batch of one offs my brother silk screened for AWK’s 2002 tour. Before the show he put a pile of shirts on the floor and we all picked one to wear. This was originally a black sports shirt. After he bathed it in bleach, it became thin and soft, the undertone of the black was green and all the stitching turned out mauve. The silk screened wolf has faded a lot over the years and the basketball logo underneath stands out more. He initially hoped all the shirts would decay by the end of the night but this one has lived on.

Another one from AWK tour. I wore this one to the show.

Another from the AWK tour. I wore this one to the show because it hadn’t been distressed -and it’s black, thank you very much – and though I liked the idea of everyone being shirtless by the end of the night, I wasn’t interested in being one of them.

My brother picked this up for me at the Rock Creek Fair. I get a lot of compliments form strangers on this one.

My brother picked this up for me at the Rock Creek Fair. I get a lot of compliments from strangers on this one.

My siblings basically dress me. I haven't bought new clothes in a long time. My middle sister gave me this one.

My siblings basically dress me. My middle sister gave me this one.

My sister drove past me on the street and threw this- with a smile - out the window of her truck at me.

The same sister drove past me on the street and threw this- with a smile – out the window of her truck at me.

Youngest sister gave this to me. I wear it a lot and it's become pretty thread bare.

Youngest sister gave this to me. It has a hood so I wear it all the time, it’s become pretty thread bare.

Middle sister gift xox.

Middle sister gift xox.

Youngest sister gift. xox

Youngest sister gift. xox

My brother gave me this one. He loved the bleach process used to print the image. He understands the process, I don't but I love the shirt all the same.

Brother gift. The image was bleached on.

2004 costume mistress at the farm found this one in the thrift for me. It's one of those images where the more you look you discover wolf faces in everything.

2004 summer show costume mistress found this one in the thrift. It’s one of those images where the more you look, you discover hidden wolves.

A gift I have yet to wear.

A gift.

Thrift in town, looks like the promo picture for a band. Same image on the back of the t-shirt.

Thrift in town, looks like the promo picture for a band. Same image on the back of the t-shirt.

 

This is one of my favorite shirts I never wear. It's huge. Like really huge and I can't cut it up because the image wraps around the back. It's spooky and like a wood cut. It sadly stays in the bin till I either wear it like a dress with a belt or become and xxl.

This is one of the favorite shirts I never wear. It’s huge. Like really huge and I can’t cut it up because the image wraps around the back. It’s spooky and strange. It sadly lives in the bin till I either wear it like a dress with a belt or, become an xxl.

backside.

backside.

IMG_2076

Youngest sis gave me this bad-ass tee.

Warp graphics logo.

Warp graphics logo.

Love this sweater. I think it's a wolf howling but my brother questioned if it wasn't a grizzly bear and if it was being run over by the snow mobile.

I think it’s a wolf howling, but my brother, questioned if it’s not a grizzly bear, being run over by the snowmobile.

 

Gifted to me by one of the actresses in the 2010 summer show. She found it in the thrift store and felt that I needed to have it. xox

Gifted to me by one of the actresses in the 2010 summer show. She found it in the thrift and sweetly, felt that I needed to have it.

Love this classic image but the shirt is massive so I don't wear it. Keep meaning to make it smaller but my sewing skills suck so it stays in a bin with my snowboard gear.

Classic image but the shirt is massive so I don’t wear it. Keep meaning to make it smaller but as my sewing skills suck, it stays in a bin with my snowboard gear.

Brother found this in the thrift last summer with the intention I could cut it up into a dress.

Brother found this in the thrift last summer, with the intention I could cut it up into a dress.

Backside. Love wood cut.

Backside. I’ve always loved wood cut.

Another wrap around image, huge shirt lives in bin of maybe one day I'll be more proficient at sewing.

Another wrap around image, huge shirt lives in bin of, maybe one day I’ll be more proficient at sewing.

Another one day shirts. Probably the biggest of the bunch.

Another one day shirts. Probably the biggest of the bunch.

Another gift from my brother. Long sleeve. Very intense red, for a very intense shirt.

Brother gift. Long sleeve. Very intense red, for a very intense shirt.

Gift last summer from dear friend. The wolf has been apliqued to the shirt.

Gift last winter from my dear friend Lisa. The wolf has been appliqued over a landscape shirt. She spotted it while the thrift ladies argued over whether the shirt belonged in the “quality” section or, with the general shirts. When they settled, Lisa immediately asked to buy it and the lone gentleman championing that it belonged in the quality section was vindicated.

Intend to sew this on the back of my jean jacket... one day.

Intend to sew this on the back of my jean jacket…

This is a huge, sheer, shawl from my sister.

This is a huge, sheer, shawl. A birthday gift this past winter from my sister.

Warp graphics tote.

Warp graphics tote that I use to haul all my stage management stuff around the farm in.

Blanket one.

Blanket one.

Blanket two.

Blanket two.

Blanket three I bought from a kiosk in Vancouver's Chinatown. It's thick and warm and soft.

Blanket three I bought from a kiosk in Vancouver’s Chinatown. It’s thick and warm and soft.

Leave a Reply

