vegan MoFo 1: Garlic!

IMG_3124Soft neck garlic braids I dropped off at the bookstore for my little sister and Mom.

When Darby’s Dad semi-retired from horse logging, he discovered he has excellent soil conditions for garlic.They live off the grid- well water suitable for his draft horses but not humans, a tiny cabin heated with a wood stove, outdoor kitchen because the cabin is so small, outhouse, bathtub with a fire pit underneath, power; when they need it, run off generators. I think he’s looking into solar panels. 120 acres way off an obsolete logging road, it’s one of the most beautiful, pristine areas around.

This summer, due to the huge rainstorms, very few growers had success with soft neck garlic. His land is at a pretty high altitude with sandy soil and a north facing slope. His soft neck used for braiding, all survived.

IMG_3129He’s growing six varieties; Chesnuck Red, Kettle Valley, Hills, Yugoslavian, Italian & Puslinch. We had a tasting party last night for my Brother’s birthday. I roasted bulbs and sliced raw cloves.

IMG_3130Despite Darby and I being the only vegans in the family, I’m impressed how it’s affected family dinners. Clockwise from the top: quinoa & brown rice, spinach salad w/ sweet chili marinated mushrooms, raw veggie bowl w/ snap peas, red pepper, corn, avocado, sunflower seeds, super sweet and rare green grapes from my sister’s yard- the Pacific Agri-Food Research Centre (PARC) actually took clippings to re-grow it, a local dressing people go crazy for- their secret ingredient is nutritional yeast, miso cashew cheese I made from the cookbook; ‘Vegan Secret Supper’. I didn’t have enough time to make rejuvelac for a hard cheese but this was perfect with the garlic, vegan breads, artichokes, olives and pepperoncini.

The tomatoes get special mention for being a contraband Italian variety. I don’t know if being told, a friends Grandmother smuggled the seeds in from Italy, made them taste like the best tomato I’ve ever had but fuck, they were good!

10 comments
  1. zsudever said:

    You had me at garlic! Can’t wait to see more.

    Zsu @ Zsu’s Vegan Pantry

    • lysette said:

      You’re so sweet, thanks for the encouragement 🙂

  2. ijustdiedinside said:

    This is great! Looks like the best spread ever!

    • lysette said:

      I am very grateful to celebrate the harvest. This is the raddest time of year!

  3. Holey socks that’s amazing! A Garlic tasting…that just sounds incredible. And contraband tomatoes? Too Awesome.

    • lysette said:

      After a few slices of raw garlic, it was pretty hard to discern between the flavors. Other than the Yugoslavian, I remember just getting hotter and hotter in my mouth. Labor Day weekend; we were all laughing it was a good thing none of us had to work the next day. Love your site! Have to try your Burmese Tofu recipe.

  4. sara said:

    I love garlic! Such an interesting read.

    • lysette said:

      Thanks for visiting. My cousin lives in Austin, he totally sold me on what a special place it, and the surrounding area is.

  5. Liane said:

    Garlic is great 🙂 I´m so excited to see what you will make this vegan mofo 🙂

    • lysette said:

      Garlic is the bomb in more ways than one 😉 I think we killed a lot of parasites that night!

Leave a Reply

