all hallows eve

I made a last minute decision to head up to the farm for Halloween. I usually wear some sort of animal mask: a goat, two types of wolf mask, a black sheep, coyote, crow and a horse. Call me a traditionalist but dressing up on Witches New Year should honor the spirit world and it’s deities; not showing up at a party in a toothpaste costume or a sexy… anything. I like my Samhain strange, hallucinatory. The fucking Christmas celebrations of Krampus & Black Pete in Austria are infinitely more terrifying than October 31st in North America.

IMG_3851I wanted to make a raven mask but got as far as pressing my face into a tinfoil template when I realized I wasn’t going to have enough time. That said, a few years ago I whipped out a crow mask in under an hour so this isn’t a real excuse.

IMG_3890I dusted off my old goat mask and Luka looked at me with “You’re seriously going to wear that again?” She keeps me straight.

IMG_3895Looking for something faster than making a mask, I was flipping through Peter Beste’s True Norwegian Black Metal and figured, if all else, I could do corpse paint again like Gorgoroth era Kvitrafn.

IMG_3898A homage to my all time favorite: King Diamond, or Nattefrost of Carpathian Forest! I started to get excited then remembered I’d thrown out all my corpse paint make-up since the last time I’d wore it. I don’t wear make up otherwise. I couldn’t be bothered buying more.

I actually plan to hang out in box office all night with Lisa. Wearing a mask would make me kind of useless at helping patrons through. The theme this year is based on the 1940’s radio drama The Whistler. Corpse face doesn’t really meld. I’ll go low key, wear a cloak and quietly acknowledge the wondrous and unfathomable darkness on my own.

What have I been doing other than getting my shit together for All Hallows Eve?

IMG_3852Searching for incoming book space when there’s no more bloody room. It’s impossible to cull, there are so many good books!

IMG_3861Enjoying an art book on Inuit Sculpture.

IMG_3872Harvesting walnuts.

IMG_3869And wanders on the mountain trails with Luka. I can feel the snow coming which is simultaneously exciting and drives me to inhabit the unfrozen earth as much as I can.

IMG_3867

2 comments
  1. FoodFeud said:

    Youuuu are too cool!! I love the goat mask, though it looks heavy. A crow mask is maybe more my speed. Corpse paint always looks awesome but I hate the feel of make up on my face so I’ve never done it myself. maybe one year.
    Where is it you live, again? I wanna come harvest walnuts with you and sift through all those books.

    • lysette said:

      It’s relatively light, paper mache and foam padding, the horns are hollow. I don’t like the feel of makeup either. I had to paint my face every night for a show once and never got use to it. My skin needs to breathe.
      If you ever find yourself in the interior of BC, you are welcome to come sift and harvest anytime with me 🙂

Leave a Reply

