winter show prep

IMG_4101 I needed to order a box of batteries from Warriors & Wonders for my flashlight. I love this flashlight. If the generators that power the stage lights go out -and they do- I can illuminate the scene with this tiny but powerful Fenix pd35.

IMG_4103Tactical tail. Six modes to a blinding lumen of 850. Beam distance 185 meters.

IMG_4094I’ve been wanting this hatchet for years but kept putting it off. The batteries seemed like they’d be pretty lonely traveling from the coast on their own. 18.6 oz -less than a framing hammer- G10 handle and black oxide finish… ugh, this is a sexy axe. I spent an exorbitant amount of time looking at W&W’s throwing axes but reminded myself to stick to what I came for. Farmers Almanac is forecasting harsher and colder, arctic blasts than usual. I’ll be ready for it. I am going to dominate kindling this winter!

IMG_4107This adorable folding key chain knife hitched a ride as well.

6 comments
  1. Kate said:

    I don’t pretend to know anything at all about axes (other than that my clumsy ass should never be allowed near one) … but that is one good looking axe. I’ve got an axe/kindling remix of that milkshake song stuck in my head now.

  2. lysette said:

    I had to stop myself from putting up more pictures; how thin the blade is, the notched grip, torx screws, the utilitarian simplicity of it. Of all the tools axe’s and chisels hold my attention… okay, really sweet hand planes too.

  3. ooooh I have to show my son these, he will love the torch and insist on the axe for his Christmas present.

    • lysette said:

      Your son has impeccable taste šŸ™‚

  4. raechel said:

    i never would have thought that an axe could be sexy, but you hit the nail on the head…one sexy axe, indeed!

    • lysette said:

      A chunk of cedar with no knots and the grain running straight, the axe peels the wood into perfect strips of kindling. It’s divine; meditative. This makes all the difference when it’s -20 celsius and a wood stove is the only way you’re going to get warm. One of the most thoughtful birthday gifts I ever received was a bundle of cedar kindling cradled in birch bark -both naturally oily wood that lights up in a flash! I just about cried at the practicality and thoughtfulness of it.

Leave a Reply

