birthday puke

IMG_4439Ullr’s birthday gift. Snow dumping down all morning. We’ve switched to sleighs. Everyone is happy soft piles of snow has covered the ice. It’ll be easier to run in the dark. Luka is lit up. Finally a proper winter show.

IMG_4435IMG_4451Molly’s Meadow.

IMG_4452The old Gatehouse stove in the metal yard. The winter I stayed there I had many chimney fires with this ol’ harrowsmith. Tonight after the 8pm show we’ll have vegan cake and, if I have the stamina, watch my all time favorite movie; Roman Polanski’s Fearless Vampire Killers. If I have my way there will be no chorus of Happy Birthday. That song makes my skin crawl. Most of my friends know this, hopefully they pass the word around. Last year the teamsters all sang it from their sleighs, at least I wasn’t put completely on the spot. Another year they opened wide with “Haaaa” as I entered the cook shack and I walked right back out again. It would be nice to just go snowboarding and hide out on my birthday but I have to work so also have to deal with people who don’t get why an introvert wouldn’t want a room full of people staring at her singing out of key.

IMG_4448

6 comments
  1. raechel said:

    we have no snow here yet! looks beautiful. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! (just shouted that, didn’t sing it. ;))

    • lysette said:

      Thank you 🙂 It has snowed for three days straight! We’re gonna get buried in!

  2. FoodFeud said:

    Happy Birthday 🙂
    I want snow!!

    • lysette said:

      I’ll send this Pacific winter storm out east – light and soft like it is here, not the crazy ice storms the Atlantic gets! Thanks for the b-day wishes xo

  3. many happy returns! I too am a fellow cringer when it comes to the happy birthday bit!

    • lysette said:

      Word did spread and for the first time in 11 years no-one sang happy birthday to me! I was relieved until everyone started asking me ‘why?’ I don’t want happy birthday sung to me and ‘do you not like your birthday?’ It was like the room was trying to give me a high five and I left them all hanging. I ended the night feeling like a bit of a dirt bag. Another lesson in being human to pop in my back pocket for reflection.

Leave a Reply

