wild loggers

IMG_5183Beavers are falling young trees around the creek.

IMG_5191IMG_5197IMG_5194The city protects some trees with chicken wire. There are big, old trees near the water you can see chicken wire patterns embedded in the bark. Last spring Luka chased a beaver into the water at the marina. It swam circles around her, pausing to thwap!  it’s wide tail at her. She’d never have caught it, but if she did; I shudder to think how badly a beaver would fuck her up. She’s on the hunt. Normally, I keep her leashed up whenever we near beaver dens. She’ll stop, lift her nose high in the air, eyes closed and smiling as she smells them on the wind.

6 comments
  1. raechel said:

    Beavers can be scary! Careful, Luka!

    • lysette said:

      She can’t resist them! I’ve gotten good at clocking when she smells a beaver on the wind and leashing her back up, otherwise the chase is on; unfair for the beaver, dangerous for Luka. I’ll let Luka know you say ‘Leave the beavers be’ 😉

  2. This city kid wants to say there is something cool about spotting trees felled by beavers, but I guess I should know better…

    • lysette said:

      Nah, I totally get excited every time I spot a beaver! Even more so if it’s out of the water cause you really get to see their huge, wide tail! My brother and I were driving along the water and saw a house with a custom sign ‘The One Tree House’ It had one enormous willow in the front yard and a beaver had gnawed out half of it’s base! We felt horrible but still laughed, pulled over and took a picture.

  3. I love beavers! Never seen one and probably never will but I still think they’re awesome 😀

    • lysette said:

      I haven’t seen them very often, though I am more aware thanks to Luka’s interest. More rare is the platypus, eh? Beavers and platypus’s must be distant cousins, similar tails, webbed feet, waterproof fur and totally, utterly awesome!

Leave a Reply

