north bound

IMG_5205The last few days around town, before I headed to the farm for our first ever spring show.

IMG_5207

IMG_5240Early morning, lumbering up the creek we spotted The Beaver! Luka and I scuttled along the edge trying to catch up for a better look. It was huge! Must have been around sixty pounds.

IMG_5241It slipped into the culvert before I could get a closer photo.

IMG_5242If Luka wasn’t on leash, she’d be up the creek.

IMG_5261All the boats are back in the water, summer is coming.

IMG_5267While I was packing, Lisa said she was out of coffee til Kim got back from the coast. I cried “Never fear!” Jesse had brought in a fresh bag of Heart beans, my love of loves. I loaded the car with a month worth of clothes and books, food for Luka and her multiple beds. The drive is about two and a half hours; up the lake, stretching into farm land cradled by forested mountains. By afternoon Lisa and I sat on the steps of her porch drinking french press; warmed in the sun, chilled by the wind. Buddy, her new eight month old pup, followed Luka around the yard; woofing, bowing, trying to get her to play. Luka eating his bones, chewing sticks together. So good to be back and experience this place in the spring.

2 comments
  1. Good luck with yr travels and the show! Looking forward to my mailbox when yr through.
    missed yr last few posts, but I love the photo of the young you! So sweet. my nervous tic is hair pulling, so I can definitely relate to the weird ways anxiety makes its way through and out of yr body.
    Looking at those coffee beans makes my heart swell 🙂

Leave a Reply

