heat

IMG_6194Sunny and Jack are at Adam’s. Spike and Frenchie have new homes. Victor and Tinkerbell are pastured in the dry corral. Endo in the Timber Barn field. I’m still grieving Jason’s death this past winter and Luke the fall before. Tom is the only horse free grazing. Grass is thigh high everywhere. I’ve been using the scythes but yesterday was so hot while I was cutting down waist deep grass I have blisters all over my hands. Only one has broke so far.

IMG_6223A hatch of frogs are living in one of the showers.

IMG_6229IMG_6236The day off we met Liv and Jesse in town for espresso. Liv asked how my week had been, how rehearsals were going. I said it’s all good but I’ve been mostly by myself cutting trails. She looked pensively above my head and asked if ‘cutting trails’ was a theatre term? We laughed and I replied I literally mean cutting backstage paths in the woods so the actors can make entrances along the hillside. Our theatre is the forest and every show is site specific. Along with my stage management gear; I pack my carpentry tool belt, gloves, boots for working with horses, gum boots, a head lamp, high powered flashlight, rope, a small axe, a fold-able pruning saw and a sharp pair of hand shears.

IMG_6249Spending afternoons in the shaded woods was a sweet reprieve from the blazing sun, ten degrees hotter than average. Though we are a bit shielded with the haze of smoke from 194 forest fires currently burning in the province, yesterday everyone got sun beaten. Dinner on the porch was sweaty and lazy. Jamie said everything seemed funnier than usual. Jason and I had claimed the only two chairs with backs. Cars were being organized and bathing suits gathered for a swim in the river but I said I wasn’t going despite being covered in grime. Jenn said she’s never seen me come along to the waterwheel. I said I don’t really like water and sitting on a beach isn’t my ideal activity. I’d rather be in the woods hiking towards cooler air. Jimbo standing on the porch, perpetually smiling and swaying said ‘That’s because you’re a lone wolf’ and he walked off to the paint room.

IMG_6255IMG_6252We start rehearsing the second act today.

6 comments
    • lysette said:

      Might explain why I’m so relaxed on this show. It is satisfying seeing all the trails I’ve blazed over the years here.

  1. You must be quite a sight cutting all that grass down with a scythe. Very metal.
    Very cute little frogs!

    • lysette said:

      I love scything cause it’s quiet like a knife and Mick sharpened all the blades -whoosh, slice- hell yeah fully metal! Deadly scythe, gumboots, black skirt, Obituary shirt. I’m a total dirt bag right now too, need to go visit those adorable frogs in the shower!

  2. I’m not a beachy swimmy person either and hate swimming so I’d be off to the woods too. Even the word ‘woods’ is so poetic, we don’t say woods over here unfortunately. Clearing paths sounds awesome to me, despite the tough work (though I’m not not looking forward to digging up my back yard to replace plumbing pipes…)

    • lysette said:

      Yesss! I get pointed out as ‘she who does not like water.’ I drink a lot of it. I just don’t want to be in it. I can I go a long time without showering. I grew up in a beach town and though I like being near bodies of water, I’m deeply terrified by it. I like being on solid ground. When I was a kid I was snorkeling outside of Cairns and fifteen feet below me the ocean floor lifted up, two massive sting rays emerged and swam off. I screamed and refused to go back in the ocean for years after that! What do you call the forest in Oz? I miss the smell of eucalyptus everyday! Tough work is the most satisfying kind.

Leave a Reply

