mofo: tell us about your breakfast

IMG_6557It’s MoFo! I had thought of veganizing recipes from my favorite childhood cookbook DC’s Super Hero Super Healthy Cookbook, instead I’m following the daily prompts listed from the official vegan Month of Food website, as best I can. I have no idea how this month will shake down since I’ve been away all summer.

1) Rise and Shine! It’s MoFo time! Tell us about your breakfast.

I’ve been eating oats for so long I can’t remember when I didn’t eat them. I kinda live up to my Year of the Horse sign given how satisfied I am with oats and apples. Soaking overnight is easier than cooking in the morning and some would argue better for you. In the jar I dump large flake rolled oats, chia seeds, pumpkin/sunflower seeds, sea salt and water. The oats make it milky on their own. In the morning I’ll chop in apple, this is a Sunrise apple the first of the season. Next up is a short window of good tart Macintosh. Some times I’ll go with banana and it’s really good if I soak some coconut flakes with that. Blueberries were my go to this summer cause Kate was buying them by the pallet.

8 comments
  1. “I kinda live up to my Year of the Horse sign given how satisfied I am with oats and apples.” That’s hilarious! What a great observation. I rarely make oats. I tend to be drawn to tofu or polenta more than anything. However, yours sound delicious!

    • lysette said:

      My horse friend was eating molasses with his alfalfa and I was seriously like ‘Hey Bud, that smells pretty good!’
      You do make kickin’ savory breakfasts. I just ate a chickpea cake -pudla- for dinner but always aspire to make them for breakfast 🙂

  2. Gorgeous photograph! An Apple and Oats never looked so beautiful. Do you have a background in professional photography?

    • lysette said:

      Hahaha no, I have an ipod with a camera function. I don’t even have a smart phone and I think their cameras are supposed to be better?

  3. overnight oats are the BEST, I love them with apple too. Go horsey power!

  4. I really need to get more into overnight oats, they are delicious. We used to eat them a lot when we were traveling in our van as we could just wake up and eat them and get on the road again. Yum!

    • lysette said:

      Hell yeah, way quick 🙂 Good travel food, you don’t really need to worry about it spoiling, the longer it soaks the better it gets. When we were traveling in our van we’d made a huge -massive- tub of granola and ate that every morning with rice milk -it was the only commercial alternative back then other than pretty gross & chalky soy. These days I can not stand rice milk, totally over did it!

Leave a Reply

