mofo: q-e-d

IMG_6555

3) Quick, easy and delicious.

Is this a cop out? I found these soy malt drinks and a pluot at a big supermarket I never go into. These took me back ten years when I was living on the coast and scenic painting for a theatre company that’s since closed due to a series of unfortunate circumstances. It was the best job and I could walk home from work along the sea wall, then cut through the Downtown Eastside into Chinatown where I would stop at the market on Gore street and pick up a cold soy malt and pluot -which is a hybrid of a plum and an apricot, sweet, firm and fleshy. Sometimes if I was really hungry I would get a sesame mochi. I’d eat this on the rest of my walk home to my friends house in Strathcona. I miss that job and that house but these two foods brought those good memories back.

14 comments
  1. mihl said:

    That sounds like a great job indeed! I’ve only ever seen that Swiss malt drink Ovomaltine and always wondered what it tastes like. Vitasoy sounds like a brand I’ve seen before so I will look out for this.

    • lysette said:

      Vitasoy has been around for eons! I was happy to see it list it’s soy beans as non-GMO πŸ™‚

  2. I thought for a second a pluot was a typo, rather than a delicious fruit – I’d never heard of one. More fool me, I think I’d like to eat one a great deal. A beautifully written memory from a beautiful fruit muse.

    • lysette said:

      In Canada I usually see them in Asian markets, though there are many varieties within the fruit. Try it, they’re very addicting!

  3. Jennifer said:

    That pluot looks incredible! I haven’t had any yet this season but I do like them!

    • lysette said:

      This one lived up to the season πŸ™‚

  4. kendy said:

    i buy pluots for the boyfriend’s lunch. i have not had one. i had a bad allergic reaction to dried apricots like ten years ago. i have thought i was allergic to apricots but i am doing more research these days and think it is sulfates in dried fruit. i might try a few bites of a pluot before going into full apricot territory!

    • lysette said:

      Give it a shot but take it slow for sure. Apricots don’t always agree with me but plums do. Sulphites in dried fruit always react badly with my guts. I stopped drinking wine cause of sulphites too and I live in a wine making region 😦

  5. I’ve never heard of a pluot but now of course I want one and won’t rest until I get it.

    • lysette said:

      Best bet is check the Asian grocery. I bet you’ll find a bunch of varieties!

  6. Kyra said:

    That pluot looks good – like many of the other commenters, I’ve never had one before either – going to have to find one around here!

    • lysette said:

      Good luck, it’s worth the search!

  7. I have heard of (and enjoyed) Pluots. The Malt Soya Drink is news to me. Bet it is excellent.

Leave a Reply

