mofo: weird combo

IMG_6579

4) Tell us about a weird food combo that you love.

Weird is pretty subjective. I went back into my memory bank for this one. I was fifteen and hanging out in the kitchen of a punk house downtown. I don’t know how the subject came up but Scott and Heather said they love roast garlic peanut butter sandwiches. I remember Scott saying ‘It sounds weird but it tastes really good!’ Laurel chimed in that pickles and peanut butter make a good sandwich as well.

It was cooler and raining outside; I didn’t mind turning the oven on to roast a buttercup squash, a bulb of garlic and a few slices of onion. I toasted slices from the chia loaf I’d picked up to make the Po Po sandwich, smooth peanut butter and crushed sea salt. This sandwich reminds me of being a 90’s vegan. Given that the flavors are like peanut sauce it’s not really weird but in the 1990’s south Asian fusion was just hitting the west. I guess in our small mountain valley town this seemed pretty weird at the time but Scott is right, it’s weirdly good.

23 comments
  1. Caroline said:

    I’m loving your food memory stories alongside your posts. I wouldn’t have thought of this sandwich combination but I can imagine it tastes really good.

    • lysette said:

      Thanks Caroline, that’s really sweet you you to say ā¤

  2. After today’s mofo prompt, I’m starting to think that there are loads of people doing weird stuff to their peanut butter and today has given them the chance they needed to talk about it! Roast garlic makes everything good, so I’m not surprised.

    • lysette said:

      and peanut butter -according to vegan appetites- makes everything good too. I think the funniest thing about this prompt is, for the most part, if it’s vegan we’ll eat it!

  3. kittee said:

    Sounds yummy! But when I want peanut butter, I want it right away.

    • lysette said:

      Ditto! But sometimes one must restrain to create ah masterpiece! ahaha…

  4. Kelly said:

    I have to try this! I gave PB + onions a shot once and wasn’t impressed, but roast garlic might be another story!

    • lysette said:

      Roasting the onions helps but I’ve had it with raw and it’s a real nose burner! The roast garlic gets sweet and caramely, complements to peanut butter well.

      • Kelly said:

        Roast garlic is heavenly!

  5. ameyfm said:

    wow!! I definitely would have never thought of this, but I bet I would love it! What a good idea. I think this is the first weird food combo post that I actually find super compelling. I want to try it! šŸ™‚

  6. That is really something. Like food on a dare. But when you make the point about it having an Asian bent, it does seem similar to Sesame Noodles. Great job coming up with a weird combo!

    • lysette said:

      Thanks Shen! I think it’s also a bit on the stoner realm of cooking šŸ˜‰ Someone who cares enough to have roast garlic on hand but doesn’t care enough to go further than spreading peanut butter on toast.

  7. zsudever said:

    Makes complete sense given the Asian angle! I’ll have to try it in a more in-depth recipe, but for simplicity, this actually sounds good!

    Zsu @ Zsu’s Vegan Pantry

    • lysette said:

      This does straddle the line between prompts 3 & 5!

  8. Julie said:

    This sounds pretty good for a weird food combo! šŸ˜€

    • lysette said:

      Ha! This prompt was kind of hard -it’s a fine line between good & gross.

  9. I would never have thought of this– must try it but arghgh finished my jar of PB the other day (and I have roasted garlic ready to go, such an injustice).

    • lysette said:

      A cruel fate, oh how those garlic gods are taunting your empty jar but there will be more peanut butter for sure šŸ˜‰

  10. Hah! We had a similar weird combo! And I just remembered from your comment, that there may be people reading my blog from other parts of the world and that potato chips might mean fries to them instead of “crisps”. Woops! Changes the meaning to se readers… I was going to draw a cute picture of the combo but didn’t have time.

    • lysette said:

      I’ve seen fries go into sandwiches too but a drawing would have helped clear up any confusion too šŸ˜‰

      • Yeah, I’ve never seen someone make a fry sandwich before, but I don’t see why someone wouldn’t consider it. That’s why I realized it might have had some confusion

Leave a Reply

