mofo: sandwich

IMG_66585) Best sandwich ever.

I’m going to let my hippie flag fly on this one -I attribute to my Dad’s side of the family- if a sandwich has sprouts in it I am guaranteed to love it. It does need more than sprouts but not much more. When I was living in my van and snowboarding everyday I had a cooler with pita bread, tofu, vegemite, pickled beets, avocado and a container of sprouts. This fueled me through every mountain excursion.

IMG_6665My broccoli seeds grew just in time to make this sandwich. I wouldn’t call it the best ever but it’s a pretty damn good, total west coast hippie sandwich -sans hummus. The only problem the bun is too small but the cape seed buns from Cob’s are packed with poppy, sesame and sunflower seeds. From the top: mustard, avocado, red onion, tofu, broccoli sprouts, romaine, sun-dried tomato, black olives, cashew cheese and f-ing yum!

19 comments
  1. Look at all your little sprouties! I’m a big fan too, though have not been sprouting myself lately…I need to getback into it. So easy and delicious!

    • lysette said:

      So easy but for some reason I always fail when sprouting to make rejuvelac? I don’t really trust the sprouted containers in the supermarket these days, maybe I’ve gotten use to making them super fresh at home, this three tray sprouter was a good investment.

  2. shaheen said:

    I like sprouts but have never been successful at germinating them. Ikeep trying and your sandwich looks very good to me.

    • lysette said:

      It’s a balance between wetting them enough but not too much and I have zero green thumb instincts, keep trying you’ll get it!

      • shaheen said:

        Thank you. I will do, just need to find where I put my sprouter.

  3. I don’t usually go for sprouts but this looks delicious!

    • lysette said:

      Grow up west coast-ish and sprouts are ingrained into the palate -we ain’t called hippies for nothing!

  4. Sonja said:

    Sprouts are the best! I also put some on my sandwich. Such protein bombs and delicious furthermore! šŸ™‚

  5. Bonnie said:

    Beautiful sandwich! It looks almost too tall to bite into with all those delicious fillings. šŸ™‚ I keep meaning to sprout my own sprouts — I’m not sure why the process seems intimidating to me. I’ve sprouted quinoa to make rejuvelac and I’ve sprouted seeds to grow plants, so I should be able to sprout seeds for my sandwiches too!

    • lysette said:

      It did require some smushing down and jaw warm up, especially with the heartiness of the bun. Sounds like you’ve already mastered sprouting, you just need to transition to eating them šŸ˜‰ Do it! It’s a great way to get nutritious greens through the winter!

  6. Caroline said:

    I need to get back into sprouting. I used to always have alfalfa on the go. Need to try some other types too.

    • lysette said:

      There are so many great mixes like with red clover and fenugreek or spicy garlic chives. Sunflower sprouts are one of my favorites but I’ve never tried sprouting them myself -next mini project!

  7. ameyfm said:

    I have to say, that’s pretty close to my idea of a perfect sandwich. Perhaps because I am also a west coast hippee, and I am a tried and true sprouts fan FOREVER

    • lysette said:

      If there was ever an east coast vs west coast vegan rumble I’d have your back Amey šŸ˜‰

    • lysette said:

      Go for it, so good when winter greens are sparse, though that might not be a problem in your parts.

Leave a Reply

