mofo: r – r – m

IMG_6683

6) Re-create a restaurant meal.

There’s a restaurant close by that does a coconut laksa. I’ve only had it once -because I invariably go for the raw pizza or shiitake salad rolls- but whenever someone says they’re going there I always mention how good the soup is.

I’m not sure if I have a lot of cookbooks. I feel like I have a lot of cookbooks. It’s hard not to given I’ve grown up in a book store. Access is too easy but for current publications I walk across the street from my family’s used shop to the new bookstore to buy or ask her to order for me. For MoFo inspiration I’m trying to use my shelf rather than computer and was surprised I couldn’t find coconut laksa, or even coconut soup in any of the pages save for The Lusty Vegan and Crazy Sexy Kitchen.

IMG_6589First I made the Coconut Rosemary Soup from TLV and while it was really good, it was more of a creamy vegetable chowder than the smooth laska I was looking for. Then I made the easy blender Red Thai Coconut Soup (the first picture) from CSK and literally made a guttural sound of approval when I tasted it. This came closer to the restaurant soup. All that’s missing is rice noodles which in place of shopping for I’m going to take a page from Kendy and spiralize one of the many zucchinis my nice neighbor keeps gifting us.

18 comments
  1. Bonnie said:

    These look so creamy and delicious. I love the lighting in the first photo!

    • lysette said:

      Thanks! The soup came together really fast and easy, totally recommend that one from Crazy Sexy Kitchen. The light in my kitchen was a happy accident too.

  2. Laksa is always a winner – the Asian Vegan Kitchen has a nice one. I tend to overload mine viciously with veggies and tofu until there’s not enough sauce to go around. Clearly a mistake!

    • lysette said:

      Never a mistake, just a different experience with lots of veg and tofu coated in a delicious sauce. Thanks for the tip on Asian Vegan Kitchen, I’ll definitely check that out 🙂

  3. Caroline said:

    I have a cold so that kind of soup would be perfect right now! I like the idea of putting spiralised noodles in soup too.

    • lysette said:

      Oh no! Ginger cayenne carrot soup and mushroom miso broth. Burn that bugger out!

  4. coconut laksa (or coconut anything) is just so good. I should make this while we’re still having some cooler weather (warm weather is approaching, gahhh)

    • lysette said:

      It never ceases to be strange our season are opposite!

  5. mihl said:

    I’ve never had coconut laksa. It sounds wonderful!

    • lysette said:

      Ooo give it a go, it’s a luxurious soup experience 🙂

  6. ameyfm said:

    I know there’s a laksa recipe in Appetite for Reduction, and also in The Abundance Diet… they’re both great recipes!

    • lysette said:

      I don’t have either of those, thanks for the tip! I’ve seen the terrific reviews tour of The Abundance Diet, it’s definitely next on my new cook book collecting list.

  7. Hard to believe these photos are taken with an iphone. These Soups look super gourmet!

    • lysette said:

      Not even an Iphone, Shen, an Ipod! I tread into technology like a turtle. They tasted damn good but honestly the coconut milk did all the work.

  8. Jennifer said:

    Oh! Look at THIS! Wonderful, indeed!!!! I would LOVE a bowl of this right about now!

  9. Ttrockwood said:

    Have you been through the Ottolenghi cookbooks? Not veg*n books but many recipes are or are easily adapted. He has a recipe for laksa ( with stuff like the second photo) that’s vegan and i keep meaning to try it out, just waiting for the weather to cool off…

    • lysette said:

      A friend of mine has it and I leafed through it, very nice, great inspiration. When I see her this winter I’ll ask to check out that recipe, thanks for the tip 🙂

Leave a Reply

