mofo: inspired by a book

IMG_6601

7) Make/eat some thing inspired by a book or film.

In honor of my sister naming her son after Holden Caufield from one of our all time favorite books I dug out Dad’s copy of The Catcher in the Rye and found this passage:

‘When I’m out somewhere, I generally just eat a swiss cheese sandwich and a malted milk.’

Holden would probably eat it on white bread but I’m partial to Scandinavian dark rye, and well, rye seemed fitting too. Instead of swiss I used the tangy cashew cheese I had made from the Vegan Secret Supper book. I have barley groats soaking for rejuvelac so I can make a firm fermented cheese from Miyoko’s Artisan Vegan Cheese book but the groats don’t seem to be sprouting, it might be a lost cause.

The malted milk was awesome! I used a container of the soy malt drink, a frozen banana, a heaped teaspoon of carob powder and a heaped teaspoon of Bambu coffee substitute and a handful of ice cubes. All of Salinger’s books were staples throughout my teenage years. I saw Ben reading Nine Stories on the cook shack porch this summer and my heart swelled up. The covers are so recognizable. Even going into Dad’s library -which sounds kind of pretentious but shouldn’t be cause we own a used bookstore- I stood in the middle of the first room and did a quick scan. I spotted the pale orange spine easy. We’ll have to make sure there’s a copy for little Holden when he’s old enough to appreciate J.D Salinger.

19 comments
  1. ameyfm said:

    I love this post. I read that book so long ago, and yet I remember it so fondly. I am also a great fan of the dark rye. The darker the better! Plus, I love Vegan Secret Supper – what a cool book! And then, lastly: Malted Milk. I wish we could malted soy milk. When I lived in Italy, I used to love the “malto” yogurts, they were so good. I grew up drinking malted milk, but haven’t had it for years. I wish I could have a big sip of yours – or just snatch it and run off with the whole darned thing. Hee hee.

    • lysette said:

      Makes an impact doesn’t it? I’m a bit relieved it hasn’t been made into a film yet but soon enough it surely will. Yes! I found the darkest rye I could, sticky, dense and delicious! VSS is a great book, seems a little fancy intimidating at first but everything I’ve tried out of it has been successful. Vita Soy is a pretty big company, I bet you could find it and satisfy those malty memories. I’d let you run off with it 🙂

  2. Clever using rye bread! Haha. Do you know, I’ve never actually read this book. Mayhaps I will make the effort to find a copy and enjoy with malted milk xx

    • lysette said:

      Haha it was actually unintentional. I clued in after the fact when I was writing the post! It’s a great read, perfect when you are a teenager. At the defiant age of 13 I declared to my Dad there were ‘no good books!’ and he handed me The Catcher in the Rye. I swallowed my words and read everything else Salinger wrote.

  3. love it! Yep, rye bread was certainly fitting. I haven’t had a malted milk(shake) since long before I was vegan (had given up dairy cos it made me sick). I want to try vegan versions now.

    • lysette said:

      I think the carob and Bambu coffee sub stepped it up a notch!

  4. I’m going to have to go and dig out Vegan Secret Supper and for that matter Catcher in the Rye. It’s been so long since I read that book. Too long.

    • lysette said:

      It’s a quicker read than I remember it to be or I’m just reading longer books these days :/ It’s the ‘Miso Cashew Cheese’ in the back of VVS 🙂

  5. mihl said:

    That Scandianvian rye looks like Norhtern German Pumpernickel. Exactly like it! Also, Holden knows what’s good.

    • lysette said:

      I’m pretty sure it’s the same thing too. I call it that cause I ate it everyday when I was in Scandinavia. Unfortunately, I only got to see the bus station in Frankfurt. Next Europe trip, Germany is a must!

  6. Vegan Secret Supper is such a wonderful book. I love it. I fantasize about being able to attend one of her secret suppers.

    What a great idea this is, by the way!

  7. Caroline said:

    It’s a long time since I read Catcher. Reckon I’m due a re-read. I love the sound of the malted milk.

    • lysette said:

      Highly recommend the malted milk accompanying the re-read.

  8. Jennifer said:

    Nifty post and connection here! Nice!

Leave a Reply

