mofo: retro

IMG_6612

9) Most retro recipe.

I was sitting on the floor with cookbooks all around me looking for a retro recipe. I said to Darby ‘I don’t even know what retro is anymore.’ Darby said things like salisbury steak are retro -I don’t know what that is- and he laughed that in Home Ec class they made salisbury steaks and how disgusting it was. I said Home Ec was useless and all I remember from it was making cheese pinwheels. He said the one good thing was learning the Orange Julius recipe and after that he made them all the time. He said the secret is they put egg in it. Now as a vegan he thinks this is totally gross and is surprised more people don’t get sick from eating raw eggs in smoothies.

Do Orange Julius’s even exist anymore? I started by squeezing the juice out of oranges but realized I was putting it in a Vitamix and thought ‘What the fuck am I doing?’ and just threw the orange flesh in whole. I zested off some of the rind, mostly as an excuse to use the zester Mom gave me, when really I could have just put a slice of rind into the blender too. Added unsweetened vanilla almond milk, ice, a squeeze of vanilla agave and a bit of flax meal to thicken it up. Wheat germ might have worked too if I had it. It was pretty good. I don’t remember ever having an orange julius. Darby was at work so I never shared it with him to get his opinion.

14 comments
  1. Julie said:

    Yikes, why would anyone put a raw egg in a smoothie?! Your Orange Julius looks so bright & colorful! πŸ™‚

    • lysette said:

      I know so wrong, so gross! Thanks! It was pretty pulpy but I don’t mind that.

  2. ewww raw egg! There’s a retro Superman appeal here too, you know how in the movie Lois is trying to squeeze oranges?

    • lysette said:

      Ha! You’re right, all I needed was a cigarette!

    • lysette said:

      Hey! Thanks for doing that leg work! I looked through their website and they keep facetiously alluding to their secret recipe with images of unicorns and science beekers; all the while in the back of my head is a voice whispering shouting – egggggsssssss…

  3. I’d never heard of an Orange Julius until today – I’m not sure whether I’m better off for knowing about it or not! I remember my dad used to make ‘orange milkshakes’ where he’d give us orange juice in milk. That was definitely grim.

    • lysette said:

      You are not missing out, believe me. I think before smoothies were as popular as they are now Orange Julius was a bit of a king in the American fast food experience. Ooo grim milkshakes do not fond memories.

    • lysette said:

      Ah cool thanks for the link Ttrockwood. I’ll give that recipe a veganized shot and see if it reminds D of the original πŸ™‚

  4. Caroline said:

    I’ve had cocktails with raw egg in before but never in a smoothie. It looks great. I adore the smell of oranges but sadly I am allergic to them 😦

    • lysette said:

      Ooo that’s a bummer, does that mean all citrus like limes and lemons too? Right, egg nog! hadn’t thought of that.

  5. Bonnie said:

    I like the colour! And the flax seed sounds much better than the raw egg (and probably still quite nutritious).

    • lysette said:

      Flax is one of my pantry -well in the fridge actually- essentials for sure πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

