mofo: blue

IMG_6700

10) Something blue.

The MoFo organizers must have relished how hard this one was going to be. My friend Thomas and I wandered through the farmers market looking for blue foods. I hoped I would find blue corn so I could make the sweet and savory blue cornmeal cornbread from The Lusty Vegan but no blue corn was found. Thomas kept pointing to vegetables like eggplant, cabbage, fingerling potatoes, got excited over a flowered artichoke. We would pause and hum & ha and conclude all of these vegetables, plums and kohlrabi’s, were purple not blue.

IMG_6691I went back to the bookstore a little defeated. Cleaning up the cooking section I flipped through this book and came upon Blueberry Lavender Syrup and an easy recipe to follow. It’s rich and sweet as. I cooked it down way longer than suggested and ended up with a little pot for mixing with soda water, or topping pancakes.

IMG_6699Even blueberries, to me, are not quite blue but you can see the clouds and blue skies reflecting back over suspended lavender buds.

*This was really good mixed with ice and club soda. Little lavender buds giving flora pops!*

16 comments
    • lysette said:

      It tastes so good in soda water those pancakes might miss out!

  1. The blue theme was harder than expected wasn’t it?! But I love what you’ve come up with and it’s especially timely – my housemate and I were talking about using lavender in cooking the other day and now have some drying on the window sill. I absolutely love the sound of this, particularly as a drink – I imagine the flavour is beautiful.

    • lysette said:

      It’s also a great sleep aid if you stuff it in your pillow. Lavender and shortbread is a nice combo too πŸ™‚

  2. zsudever said:

    Yup, there is no actual blue color in food (they are all more purple than blue), so, really, an impossible task if we want to make a naturally occurring blue food. Having said that, your syrup sounds absolutely delicious! I’ll have to give that a try!

    Zsu @ Zsu’s Vegan Pantry

    • lysette said:

      Super easy, super good. I’ve loved seeing how everyone interpreted blue, there’s been a lot of variety!

  3. Caroline said:

    I love this and I have a bag of culinary lavender so I may have to give this a go.

    • lysette said:

      Ha, I didn’t know there was culinary lavender -oops I just used what a friend had given me, fingers crossed I’ll be fine…

  4. The smell and taste of lavender always make me feel happy – not blue – even though it’s not blue!

    • lysette said:

      It’s so relaxing, puts me to sleep. There’s a woman here with a lavender farm and she’s the most chill person in town!

  5. Bonnie said:

    Great idea to include lavender as a blue food, it sounds lovely with blueberries! And I like your creative use of camera angles to include a blue sky. πŸ™‚

    • lysette said:

      Happenstance. I was surprised to see the sky reflected back. I wouldn’t have thought of Blueberries and lavender either, it is a good mix ❀

  6. Jennifer said:

    I need to find that book πŸ™‚

    • lysette said:

      It was published in 2011, check your local used book shop!

Leave a Reply

