mofo: cookbook

IMG_6759

12) Tell us about your favorite cookbook!

Originally I was going to veganize my favorite childhood cookbook the DC Super Heros Super Healthy Cookbook. I might still do this for next years MoFo -I guess if there is a next year? My brother generously offered to scan the images for me next time instead of my hastily taken, scrappy Ipod photos. This book is fairly collectible now. This is a copy from his office at our bookstore and the one we had as kids is on his shelf at home.

I wanted to include all the pictures in the book as they carry strong memories and are awesome! But that would have been ridiculous so here is a few of the best of the best.

IMG_6763Font! These were -still are- my two favorite pages in the whole book. Kid me would stare endlessly.

IMG_6762

IMG_6764It’s filled with tongue in cheek humor and check out Robin’s legs!

IMG_6766

IMG_6768It alternates between drawings and photographs of the finished product.

IMG_6773As kids, my brother and I had naturally cut out and used this page from our copy. In the same way we blew apart Star Wars figurines with his BB gun, we had no sense of the collectible value these things would later amass. We were so surprised to see what this page looked like again.

IMG_6775

IMG_6776

IMG_6772

IMG_6777Next year, for sure.

 

20 comments
  1. Caroline said:

    Oh I love this! It should be compulsory for every kid to have a copy šŸ™‚

    • lysette said:

      Despite not being vegan the recipes are pretty veg-centric and healthy. I agree; Super Hero cookbooks for all!

  2. Kelly said:

    What a fun cookbook! And a great MoFo theme. We had a Star Wars cookbook growing up, and it would be super fun to veganize that one.

    • lysette said:

      Rad! I’d love to see a Star Wars theme!

    • lysette said:

      I was swimming in memories revisiting it, I can’t not do it!

    • lysette said:

      I thought you’d like it šŸ™‚

    • lysette said:

      From a connoisseur such as yourself, that does come as high praise ā¤

  3. ameyfm said:

    OH MY GOD THIS COOKBOOK IS AMAZING. I love this post so so so much. Kid me would have absolutely freaked out for this book. I had a sesame street cook book that I loved and I think the first recipe I ever remember following was the Sesame Street Banana Bread. šŸ™‚ My favorite post of the day for sure!

    • lysette said:

      Yessss! I’m glad you didn’t miss this one, no one needs this cook book more than you do Amey! I would love to see a Sesame Street cookbook. There’s also a pretty great Roald Dahl Revolting Recipes one.

  4. shaheen said:

    Wow, what an awesome cookbook.

    • lysette said:

      And his power-lifting leg flair!

  5. Marfigs said:

    This is the coolest thing EVER! I’m going to track this wonder down, collectible or not, and then gloat for all eternity šŸ˜€ The vegetable robots are the best!

    • lysette said:

      Aren’t they the cutest! I love the one that is rendered in the right side corner the best :>

Leave a Reply

