mofo: kitchen

IMG_687913) It’s kitchen tour time.

We bought this 1930’s fixer upper five years ago next month and have been renovating it ever since. The kitchen is the last major room to get hit; it’s a bit rough. Cupboards are gone, drawers are broken and missing, the oven fan has never worked, the counter top is chipped, slashed and burned. I love it.

IMG_6892From the mudroom where the fridge is. The only thing I’ve done with the kitchen -other than buy a new stove and fridge when the ones that came with the house died, oh and paint over the original horrifying dark blue and bright yellow with cheap mis-tint grey- was tear up the five layers of lino flooring with a sheet of 3/8ths plywood sandwiched between. Irene was over when we first got the house and accurately described the top layer of linoleum floor as looking like someone had peed all over it. I tried to pry it all up in sections with a big crow bar -the ‘Party Bar’ as we like to describe it- but after a few hours of getting nowhere I swapped out the blade in my skill saw for a crusty one, set it to depth and ripped a two foot grid through the kitchen and side room. I do not recommend any one do this but it worked. Darby sanded the upstairs and downstairs with a rented drum sander and, wearing my respirator for nearly a week, I sealed the floor with the last available oil urethane before the government banned it from store shelves. This, plus a gut and reno of one of the upstairs bedrooms, was all in the month before we moved in.

IMG_6895In the mudroom keeping the fridge and mini freezer company.

IMG_6859Luka has an elevated food dish but since the summer she’s grown into this lazy habit of eating breakfast lying down.

IMG_6853Most of the counter space is taken up by coffee paraphernalia. It has grown since Jesse has been living with us. The electric goose neck kettle, the burr grinder and one of the Aeropress’ will go with him at the end of the month but the rest is Darby and I and it is kind of gross in a totally necessary kind of way. This mess is usually strewn about the kitchen I just consolidated it to wonder how we ended up with three stove tops and three hand cranked grinders. The next step is getting our own roaster like Kim and Lisa.

IMG_6883This tea spoon rest was a gift from Marina. It’s my favorite piece in the kitchen usually sitting on the window sill. For some reason I always think it’s Japanese then flip it over and remember it’s from Ireland.

IMG_6884

IMG_6889The sun was reflecting too much off the fridge magnets so here’s the cork board of randomness with a dapper sea otter.

IMG_6882From the room where I drink lots of coffee and tap at my tiny, slow lap top. Cookbooks are shelved to the right. I plan to eventually tear out the cupboards on the far left and put the fridge there. Swap the counter top for butcher block, maybe do open shelves and a deeper sink. One day. I’m pretty weary of renovating. When my day job was working as a carpenter it was easier to come home in my filthy work clothes and keep working. Now that I’m back working at the family book shop the process of changing into work clothes gets overruled by an evening walk with Luka. Better for the soul but not for progress on this home. There’s a joke that you can always tell a carpenters house based on the half finished projects. The kitchen functions and for now that’s all that really matters.

 

27 comments
  1. zsudever said:

    Cute kitchen šŸ™‚ I’m with Luka in the heat of the summer!

    Zsu @ Zsu’s Vegan Pantry

    • lysette said:

      When it hit the 40’s Celsius -god it was a relentlessly hot summer!- is when I think her meals became a laid down affair.

  2. ha, the same joke is about electricians (my dad is an electrician and my mum was always waiting for lights to be installed!) Love Luka’s elevated fancy food cafe there and the cork board. And I’m so jealous of anyone that has a mudroom (and a basement). It sounds so cool to say there’s a mudroom.

    • lysette said:

      Haha I love your description ‘elevated food cafe’. When we lived in an apartment I hated coming home from work coated in sawdust and dried cement right into our living space, a mudroom was essential! My unfinished basement is otherwise know as the Spider Kingdom.

    • lysette said:

      That’s cool your dad is an electrician, a good friend of mine is one and I was lucky we did a work share on each others houses, otherwise I don’t know how we could have afforded our electrical upgrade!

  3. Caroline said:

    Love your kitchen. That’s so cool that you have carpenter skills! I’m intrigued as to what a mud room is? We definitely don’t have them in England. I’m wondering if it’s like what we would call a porch or vestibule? Your coffee things made me laugh. I have acquired a bit of a collection too including 4 stove top espresso pots in varying sizes.

    • lysette said:

      You must have a different name for mudroom -which is literally where you shake off the mud before entering the house. I guess it’s a farming term. The varying sizes are practical, especially for traveling or campfire coffee but the aeropress has really laid the dust over our stove tops. I’m glad you think that much coffee paraphernalia seems normal šŸ™‚

  4. Jennifer said:

    Great tour, photos, and kitchen! Puppers is super cool, too, of course šŸ™‚ YAY!

    • lysette said:

      Thanks Jennifer, you are really sweet.

  5. Jenny said:

    Both your kitchen and your dog are wonderful!

  6. kendy said:

    your dog’s coat is very shiny! nice! we have raised food dishes for the cats but they do not like the, cats are picky like that.

    i like your cork board – vegan propaganda hangout. i have one in my office – but there are more skulls on it. ;P

    • lysette said:

      Flax oil! and vegan kibble! She does have a nice coat but she got a hot spot in her hind legs and we had to shave her luxurious pants. Haha yeah VPH! It does need more skulls now that you mention it. At least Luka’s bed has skulls all over it and my apron has a Skull Skates skull on it but I forgot to take a picture of it! Do your cats pick the food out and eat it on the floor or wait for you to put the dish lower for them?

  7. I love old houses, your kitchen is very pretty. The floors are beautifull
    And of course, Luka is absolutely gorgeous!!! ā¤

    • lysette said:

      Yes! Shepherd love! Yours too ā¤

  8. I love your kitchen – it looks really homely and the floors were one of the first thing I noticed and thought looked v fancy – I ‘ve never heard of a mudroom before but luckily I have a little girl so I have heard of a fixer upper from Frozen šŸ™‚

    • lysette said:

      That’s really funny, I haven’t seen Frozen. I guess ‘fixer upper and mudroom’ are North American terms. We don’t have ‘budgie smugglers’ though, I will never grow tired of that term!

  9. I love the wood floor. Your kitchen looks like a great space!

    That surely is an impressive collection of coffee-related equipment…

    Luka looks like a total sweetheart!

    • lysette said:

      Thanks Rose! It’s old fir wood but the warps and black stains from nails are what I like most about it, crazy to think they covered it with lino but I guess it was the ‘new thing’ at the time. Our coffee needs a dedicated station for sure. I can hear Luka snoring from the living room while I type šŸ™‚

  10. ameyfm said:

    ha ha, your coffee scene is totally hilarious. That is some serious coffee appreciation right there. How rad to be refining your kitchen to suite your needs… even if it does take a long time!

    • lysette said:

      Welcome to the cult of coffee. Travel plans starts with mapping out where the coffee is! A friend gave me some good advice that you should live a while in a place before you start renovating it and he said this particularly in relation to the kitchen. It’s also the one room that’s hard to live without while renovating.

  11. I love your kitchen and that you are doing up your place – so cool. Your oven looks pretty swish and your pup is a darling šŸ™‚

    • lysette said:

      Thanks Caeli ā¤ I can't help myself, I love tearing into walls and stripping things down to the bare bones, it's better when you own the place though!

  12. Bonnie said:

    Luka is so cute! I love the floors and the otter and the tea spoon rest. I’m amazed at all your coffee makers & tools! Which one is your favourite? We only have a little French press, but some of those items you have look really cool. And I love the word mudroom too. šŸ™‚

    • lysette said:

      Depends on the coffee but I’ve been doing more pour overs these days. D & J use the aeropress but if we’re sharing we use the chemex. The tea spoon rest makes me happy every time I see it, I love the color of it. Luka makes me very happy too!

  13. The floor is fantastic. I would want to lay on it to eat as well.

    • lysette said:

      Luka would probably appreciate the company, I lay on the floor all the time but not in the kitchen, too much spilled coffee.

Leave a Reply

