mofo: share

IMG_6911

14) Share something vegan (and delicious!) with a non-vegan.

I’ve made these raw carrot cake balls before. It’s just dates and oats in the food processor then add lots of lemon zest, grated carrots and vanilla bean powder. I thought to mix it up I’d make a cashew coconut center like an inverted carrot cake and blended up cashews with coconut shreds, a bit of agave, vanilla bean powder and heavy on the sea salt. Rolled the balls in coconut shreds and put them in the fridge to chill.

I took the balls down to the shop just after everyone had finished their lunch breaks. My brother ate two and laughed that they looked like timbits. He popped the first one in his mouth and bit into the second one surprised to find there was a filling. Darby ate one but doesn’t count cause he’s vegan. Jesse, who’s mostly plant based said it looked so good he didn’t want to eat it. He had a second and said they were awesome. I found Jan buried back in Canadiana. She said it tasted better than what she ate for breakfast. Roz dove in, said it was delicious and Jeff ate his like a person who unwraps a gift really slowly. He thought they were great and called them ‘squirrel balls’.

I was nervous. What if they didn’t like it, what if my taste buds are peculiar? I made them pretty small so I wouldn’t be asking too much but for the most part everyone wanted another and it brought an afternoon cheer to group. I call this a win!

12 comments
  1. shaheen said:

    Love the filling, I’ve made these carrot balls too, but its nice to see a filled one

    • lysette said:

      I’d forgotten how great they are, need to make a stash for the freezer too!

  2. Caroline said:

    Sounds like a definite win! I keep seeing mentions of vanilla bean powder online but have never seen it in real life. I think I need to investigate it further.

    • lysette said:

      The stuff I have is pretty common in health food stores around here, it’s just dry vanilla bean no sugar or additives so it’s intense. The bag has lasted me a long time… hahaha now that I look my bag allegedly expired last year!

  3. All these ‘share with a non-vegan’ posts make me wonder if we can just drop the non bit and share amongst each other? I’d be all over these like a rash. Eating your veggies and your dessert at the same time – that’s efficient eating. Where’s the recipe?!

    • lysette said:

      Hahaha rashes shouldn’t be funny but in a benign way they are. I am all about efficiency! Not much of a recipe but i think I did about a cup of dates chopped up in the food processor, added a cup of rolled oats, blended till it’s floury, added half a cup? of grated carrot, zest off a whole lemon, vanilla and a bit of salt. Blend and set aside. Then the filling was maybe a 1/2 cup of cashews and a 1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut shreds -I don’t really know I just poured both into the food processor, lots of sea salt, a good squirt of agave and a tsp maybe of the vanilla powder and blend till it was butter. Then I chilled the coconut cashew butter it so it was easy to roll into a ball and wrap the carrot cake part around it and chilled it again. Phew, this is why I don’t write recipes, so much more work and this is an easy one! I have mad respect for everyone who does write out recipes -sharing is caring!

  4. Bonnie said:

    These look so tasty! I’ve made date balls before but never with a filling. I’d be thrilled if someone shared these with me too. 🙂

    • lysette said:

      Spread the love with tasty vegan treats!

Leave a Reply

