mofo: late summer

IMG_6922

16) What’s your favorite late summer food?

Winter squash. Sliced thin and dry roasted. I talked about my love of kabocha and black forest/buttercup last year but blue hubbards belong right beside them. Winter 2010 on the farm Illona got hooked up with a plethora of blue hubbards. They filled the mudroom spilling out of boxes, pilled on the long table, lining every shelf. We ate roast squash and soup several times a week. I was in total beta-carotene heaven.

IMG_6835I also love that with late summer comes the start of root vegetable season. Dense carbohydrate rich winter survival foods. Potatoes, carrots, parsnips, yams, rutabagas, sunchokes, turnips, daikons, beets. Apparently these are white beets. I asked the guy at the farmers market if they weren’t turnips. He told me they were definitely beets. I was still suspicious but with their long, healthy plume of greens I bought the bundle anyway. I haven’t cut into one yet.

10 comments
  1. Beet Greens are delicious as well. Hope you dont toss them. Sautee in EVOO with S&P.

    • lysette said:

      I’ve already eaten the greens. I see it less so now but it use to drive me crazy how many times I’d hear a person purchasing beets ask the farmer ‘Could you cut those tops off for me? I don’t want them.’ I always wanted to come up after and buy the greens off them.

  2. white beets look awesome, I wonder if they taste the same as regular beets? I thought those striped beets were pretty but white looks flash.

    • lysette said:

      I cut a piece off and it was stark white inside but tasted sweet and crunchy like a beet!

  3. Caroline said:

    I’ve never seen white beets! They look great. I adore root veg and look forward to making my favourite hot pot recipes in the coming weeks.

    • lysette said:

      Neither had I, that’s why I asked him if they weren’t turnips -his response was a bit cool like he’d been asked it so many times before. Look forward to hearing more about your hot pot recipe, it’s taken a chillier turn towards fall around here.

  4. Bonnie said:

    Those are some good looking vegetables! There are so many types of squash that I’ve never tried, including most of the ones you mention here.

    • lysette said:

      There’s a huge world of squashes! I’m so jazzed the farmers around here and getting into planting different varieties.

  5. Ttrockwood said:

    Although i love root veggies and squash i put off eating them as long as possible since for months on end they’re the only good looking veggies at the markets! I do love borscht and adding beets to juices.
    Right now i keep buying concord grapes and tomatoes while they’re still good

    • lysette said:

      Borscht is one of my favorite soups anytime of the year! I stood under gazebo that had a roof of concord vines and ate as many grapes as I could ❤

Leave a Reply

