mofo: autumn

IMG_7016

23) Autumn equinox eats.

I love all the equinoxes but Mabon and the shift to autumn is good for my spirit. I was born in the dark of winter and enjoy celebrating the slow death of summer. Gala’s and Macintosh’s chopped with lemon juice, maple syrup, allspice, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. Coconut oil hand smashed into rolled oats, sugar, salt and flour. I think apple crisp smells better toasting in the oven than pie does. I also wanted to make pumpkin pie but felt lazy about forming a crust. In the notes for the Raw Pumpkin Pie recipe in Oh She Glows, Angela suggests if you don’t want to make the crust you can put the filling in the freezer and make it into pumpkin fudge. The best part of the pumpkin pie. Next stop, Samhain!

12 comments
  1. Caroline said:

    Pumpkin fudge! What a lovely idea. I love all the apples at this time of year. I got given two lots by different people last week. I roasted them up with cinnamon and agave and then made apple sauce. The house smelled so good.

    • lysette said:

      I love apple season too, we have loads of varieties around here. Apple anything, be it cider making, or baking is one of the best smells for sure 🙂

  2. Pumpkin fudge? It’s a new one on me, but I’d be all over that. The colour is like a little flag waving for autumn.

    • lysette said:

      That’s an awesome image! It’s the best part of the pie but firm -from being in the freezer- like fudge and it’s a raw recipe so very decadent ie coconut oil and cashews.

    • lysette said:

      Thanks 🙂 it was a gift a long time ago, stoneware, so technically I shouldn’t be able to break it… easily.

  3. Kelly said:

    Oh, that fudge is beautiful!

    • lysette said:

      Super delicious! If you’ve got the Oh She Glows cookbook, make it this fall!

  4. ameyfm said:

    What a sweet little post. I used to be such a summer devotee. I still love summer, but I’ve been making my peace with the flavors and feels of fall. I’ve never made that recipe from Oh She Glows – but I’ve had my eye on it. I like the crustless idea!

    • lysette said:

      It keeps in the freezer so you can always have a sweet bit of creamy pumpkin on hand 🙂

Leave a Reply

