mofo: cold and rainy

IMG_6644MoFo 26: It’s cold and rainy and there’s a snow drift outside your door! What are you going to make using the ingredients you have?

Tomato soup with bread is full bore comfort food for me. If it’s storming as all shit outside then I want warm feelings inside. I usually have a few jars of my sister’s preserved tomatoes in the pantry. Add onions, garlic, a yukon gold potato and sun dried tomato to make it richer. I also found a jar of roasted red peppers hidden in the back of the cupboard. In the freezer I had chia seed bread and blended up some cashews with lots of lemon juice, miso and nutritional yeast. Let it storm, I’m all good in here.

10 comments
  1. raechel said:

    This is the best comfort food. Love the idea of that bread spread! also, did you make the chia seed bread?

    • lysette said:

      The spread was inspired from Vegan Secret Supper. The chia seed bread I’d bought from a bakery in town for an earlier prompt -recreate a meal from your childhood.

  2. ameyfm said:

    yes!! This is excellent comfort food. Tomato soup is probably my husband’s number one favorite food ever, so I have made countless varieties of it over the years. I took this prompt more for the “use what’s in your pantry” instead of the “it’s cold out” aspect…

    • lysette said:

      Do you even get snow in Santa Cruz? I didn’t like tomato soup as a kid, I don’t know when I turned but it’s been one of my absolute favorites in recent years.

    • lysette said:

      You really feel it cradle the inside of your rib-cage. I’ve experienced winter storms in Melbourne worthy of a comforting soup!

  3. Caroline said:

    Home made tomato soup is the best. I just got given a load of tomatoes yesterday and that is exactly what I’m going to do with them. The preserved tomatoes sound interesting and a good thing to have in your pantry.

    • lysette said:

      A big box of tomatoes contain endless possibilities! My sis spends a few days every year preserving tomatoes at our parents house, I always mean to go up and help her…

  4. hastalavegan said:

    I love tomato soup, it’s what I always eat when I’m feeling poorly. That spread for the bread sounds delicious

    • lysette said:

      Lycopene power! Tomato soup and waffles would be awesome too, you must have already done that?

Leave a Reply

