mofo: road trip

IMG_7099

29) What would you bring on a vegan road trip?

I happen to be getting on a bus tomorrow bound for the city. I pack light. I’ll have coffee and soaked oats before heading out. The first leg of the trip is eight hours and gratefully my brother filled my ipod with music for the road. I can or can’t read on the bus depending on motion sickness, sometimes staring out the window is the best I can do. Fortunately, it’s a gorgeous mountainous route.

I’m packing one of Hedy’s leaf wrapped multi-grain zongzis, a honeycrisp apple, a handful of dates and a handful of sunflower and pumpkin seeds. I always have lip balm on me otherwise I’ll go crazy. A bottle of water. Sometimes I’ll bring packaged bars but I wanted a bar with loads of chia seeds in it. I made the Out-the-door Power Chia Seed Doughnuts from Oh She Glows. I don’t have a doughnut pan so I baked them in a glass dish. I used date syrup Jesse brought back from Abu Dhabi instead of maple syrup.

IMG_7067I’ll use half the amount of syrup next time, they ended up too sweet but the mass amounts of chia seeds will keep my system happy. Now I just need to pack.

18 comments
  1. kendy said:

    my boyfriend cannot read on busses/trains as well due to motion sickness. i get motion sickness on windy roads and if i am on public transit standing with a lot of people (i think it is an anxiety thing).

    i like the bundled bar. i like bringing nuts and bars in my bag for portable fuel!

    • lysette said:

      I get the anxiety thing too in tight quarters not knowing where to look. I stop breathing. I’ve passed out.

      Portable is fuel is essential! It’s terrible when the only place the driver/train/plane etc stops is at a gas station and corn nuts are the only thing with out animal in it! I think of the movie Heathers & drano when I see corn nuts.

  2. Caroline said:

    I had to look up what a zongzi is, Mofo is so educational. I must say I like the look of them and you’ve given me another reason to buy Oh She Glows. I have recently fallen in love with date syrup.

    • lysette said:

      I love unwrapping it then once you bite through the grains there’s taro and mushrooms in the middle, a treasure within a treasure!

  3. jos said:

    I love that you made your own nrg bars. The rice dumpling or zhong zi, I am sure is delicious. But we shouldn’t eat rice that has been left out at room temp. However I eat those here sometimes, without any problem..or so I think?!!!

    • lysette said:

      Oh man I know! And still, I’ll eat one after it’s been sitting in the bookshop all day. I’m amazed I haven’t gotten sick but I do have my parents iron stomachs. Is that how you spell it in Taiwan – zhong zi?

    • lysette said:

      You introduced me to The Knife ages ago! Love her! He put loads of stuff on, mix of genres but lots of Doom to make me happy! Juliana loves My Puss, she’s played me that video so many times 🙂

  4. I find it hard to read too, reading in a car is impossible because I get sick. On a plane, I’m too much on edge to be able to focus on a book (or movie!) I love that Oh She Glows recipe, they make for great snacks. Have a good trip!

    • lysette said:

      Take off, landing and when the ocean is beneath me -eek! All I can do is breathe and stare straight ahead!

  5. zsudever said:

    Have a fun trip! Great snacks!

  6. Jenny said:

    I can’t read on a bus, which can be very frustrating – it’s just wasted time! Making a good playlist is a solid backup choice.

    • lysette said:

      it’s a great time for radio plays and audio books or podcasts, also helps drown out the snorers on the bus!

  7. Hope all that fiber didnt cause you to have to use the bathroom on the bus…

    • lysette said:

      I’m a fiber monster, especially when I travel, there can never be enough!

  8. ameyfm said:

    I totally can’t read on a bus. No way. I used to be able to do it when I was little, but now I can’t at all. I had never heard of a zongzi – it sounds good!! Also, I’ve had my eye on that donut recipe from OSG, but I also don’t have a donut pan, so I hadn’t made it. I’ll try your technique! I’ve heard they’re really good.

    • lysette said:

      Uber delicious, loved the hefty does of chia seeds. You should be able to find zongzi’s in Asian markets, really common street food. Don’t know if they’re always vegan – the person I buy them from at our local farmers market happens to be a vegan herself.

Leave a Reply

